employee excellence awards

MELISSA HACKER Employee Excellence Awards

At Windrose Health Network, we believe our employees are our most valuable resource. We look for hard-working, passionate, and service-oriented individuals to join our team — the kind of people who routinely “Go the Extra Mile!” for our patients, for our communities, and for each other. Windrose Health Network is comprised of many such individuals.

We also believe in paying special tribute to those employees whose job performance is truly exceptional and distinguishes them in a class by themselves. As a way to honor those remarkable individuals, in 2009 Windrose Health Network established the Melissa Hacker Employee Excellence Awards.


Melissa Hacker

Melissa Hacker, BSN, RN, was a resident of Franklin, Indiana and an employee of Windrose Health Network from July 1998 through November 2008. Melissa loved being a nurse; she was a consummate health care professional who successfully trained and mentored many fellow employees over the years. Her tremendous work ethic, deep passion, strong commitment, and ever-present professionalism served Windrose Health Network, its employees, and its patients well through the years. Her selfless, “Can-Do” attitude, even through the struggles of her own illness, was, is, and shall remain an inspiration to us all. Melissa passed away in 2009 after a valiant 5-year struggle with ovarian cancer.

By establishing this award, the management and staff of Windrose Health Network hope Melissa’s example will be embraced by future generations of Windrose Health Network employees.

Nominees for this annual award routinely “Go the Extra Mile” and demonstrate the following traits while on the job:

Personal Integrity
Commitment to teammates (or colleagues)
High personal work standards
Innovation and creativity
Compassion & concern for others
Selflessness and sacrifice
Relentless drive for excellence

We consider these eight traits to be the mark of a superior health care professional — a craftsman, if you will — and a role model for all.

Past Recipients

  • 2018 – Brett Deckard
  • 2017 – Yuka Matsuda & Danielle Broshears, M.D.
  • 2016 – Crystal Hodges & Victoria Katona, D.O.
  • 2015 – Sam Morris
  • 2014 – Courtney Gearlds, RN
  • 2013 – Mindy Mitchell, LPN & Rhonda Hester
  • 2012 – Melodie Gessling
  • 2011 – Dalia Houghton
  • 2010 – Rachelle Nash, LPN
  • 2009 – Melissa Hacker, BSN, RN

2019 Service Excellence Award

Amy Shidler

Amy Shidler